Photos Of Duluth Central State Basketball Title Celebration, 1961

March 1961

This month marks the 51st anniversary of the 1961 Duluth Central boys basketball team winning the state title with a 51-50 victory over Bemidji in the Twin Cities. Here are a few photos from the News Tribune archives of the celebration upon the team’s return to Duluth; click on the photos for a larger version:

For more on Central, take a look at this previous Attic post.

Share your memories by posting a comment.

4 Responses

  1. dave

    Who did Duluth Central beat in the local tournaments to reach the State tournament? Can we see box scores of those games to further reminisce with local athletes?

    1. Andrew

      Perhaps, but I have a lot of other items waiting to be posted and little time to do so. Maybe down the road sometime.

    2. John Paulson

      According to the book Gopher State Greatness they beat District 25 Champion Pine City 93-44 in the Region 7 semi finals and beat International Falls 61-44 in the Finals. The big controvesey that year was that right before the tourney started Munneapolis Roosevelt who had won Region 5 was disqualified from the tourney due to playing two ineligible players who the previous offseason had played in a demolay state tourney. The rues at that time stated once a stiudent became a member of a school team they were not to take part in a contest as a member of another team. Royalton won the coin flip with Mound to represent region 5 in the state tourney as those were the teams Roosevelt beat to get to the State tourney. That was on the otherside of the bracket though. Sounds like it would have been very intresting to see Central and Roosevelt play for the title.

  2. Ken Sorensen

    Ardy Stabs-student manager offers the following list of people for your picture of the 1961 basketball trophy & players with Principal George Beck.

    Front Row L to R: Walt Garvue-Athletic Director, (unknow glasses), Denny Morgan, Roger Hanson*, Ardy Stabs-Student Mgr., Jim Hastings-Head Coach, First-Place State Trophy, Mr. George Beck-Principle, Chet Anderson*, Bill Lundsten*, Larry Stevens*, Brian Cobb*, and Wally Pashke*.

    Second Row L to R: Doug Marshall, Chuck Bradburn*, Neil Nordvall*, Chris Johnson*, Sherm Moe-Asst. Coach, Terry Kunze*, Dan Howard*, and Dan Cohen*. (*) Identifies Players on the 61 tournament team.

Comments are closed.